Why I’m Writing My Own Obituary

My family will thank me later

Iva Ursano
4 min readMar 23, 2022
Insert cute pic :)

Before I begin I just want to reassure you that I’m not dying or anything. I mean, we’re all dying, but it’s not like I’m gonna go anytime soon. Nope. God willing, I’ll be here well into my 100’s 😉

But this random thought crossed my mind the other day and it kinda scared me but like in a freaked out way. If I die tomorrow who will write my obituary and do they even know what to write?

What if they miss something that I really want people to know? Or what if they write something that’s false or I really don’t want people to know. What if they write something that absolutely doesn’t properly represent my time here on earth?

I can’t have any of that. I sure as fuck am not going into the afterlife pissed off that someone in my family wrote a shitty obit. How on earth will I R.I.P if that happens??

Not only that, I don’t want my family members wracking their brains trying to think about what they should write. It’s gonna be bad enough for them knowing they just lost the best family member ever 😁let alone have to compose themselves enough to write a story about me.

That’s some stressful shit right there.

I remember when my dad died, I could not give two fucks what was written on the obituary…

--

--