Aging|Life

This is What it Feels Like to Be 60

Sliding in to the next decade

Iva Ursano
5 min readMay 18, 2024

--

I remember when I turned 50, I was sure the end of the world was going to drop on me like a concrete ball. Needless to say I was relieved when that didn’t happen.

50 turned out to be probably the best decade of my life. I did so much super cool shit. I grew. I faced a million fears. I pushed limits. I figured out who the fuck I was and what I wanted to do.

I also did all this:

The 50’s was MY decade. I wish I had the same enthusiasm for my 60’s. But I don’t. I’m not sliding into this decade with bells and whistles on my toes.

When I look at myself in the mirror, the woman looking back appears sad and tired. Somewhere along the way, she lost her spark.

I desperately want to reignite it. Honest I do. This new Iva, this 60 year old Iva, is so different and so scared. Lost and alone. Unsure and nervous.

I don’t want to write anymore. I feel I have nothing to write about that would spark joy. I feel everything I want to say now and write…

--

--