I Had A Coffee Date With A Homeless Man

He told me something that shocked me!

Iva Ursano
3 min readJan 30, 2022
Depositphotos

If you follow my stories at all, you’ll know that I volunteered at a homeless shelter for 2 years before leaving Canada and moving to Guatemala. I would go to the shelter and feed them dinner, sit and have coffee with them, chat and laugh with them. It is one of my favourite memories from life in Northern Ontario.

Every now and then I would go hang out with them on the streets.

One cold night I grabbed two coffees at a Tim Horton’s drive through, drove downtown and found one lonely fellow sitting on the side of the road. I parked my car, grabbed a blanket from the back seat and went and sat with him.

“Wanna have a coffee date with me” He laughed lightly and agreed. I sat down beside him, covered us in the blanket and we had coffee. Right there in downtown Sudbury on the sidewalk.

It was 8:00 pm on Friday night.

Hanging with the homeless man

He had an empty styrofoam cup in front of him in hopes to gather enough money to get a room at the Salvation Army for the night. I believe the rooms are $10–15 a night. One thing I knew for sure, they weren’t free.

--

--