How Hanging Out With Homeless People Changed My Life

A story of hitting rock bottom and climbing out

Iva Ursano
7 min readJan 21, 2022
Depositphotos

I talk about this an awful lot. That time I hit rock bottom. That time I left my country. That time I changed my life. I imagine some may get bored with my stories. Oh here she goes again bla bla bla.

But each story has a valuable lesson and I’m all about life lessons.

I saw a video on Facebook the other day and it was some homeless guy with two dogs having a birthday party or something. Now before I go on, I know you can’t believe everything you see on the internet. Maybe it wasn’t a homeless guy. The dogs looked well fed. Who knows. Doesn’t really matter.

What matters is that it brought me back to the days when I hung out with homeless people almost every single day.

And how it completely changed my life.

You don’t have to be like Iva

I have definitely lived a very colourful life. Just scroll through some of my stories here or over on my website here and you’ll see. I don’t share my stories for anyone to ever feel sorry for me. Please don’t.

My message is usually always the same old cliche:

If I can do it, so can you.

--

--